Treaty of Sevres

Armistice Europe

Europe 1920.081

Treaty of Sevres

The Treaty of Versailles and the European Revolutions in the wake of World War I (10 August 1920)

Historical Map of Europe & the Mediterranean

Ottoman Turkey was the last of the Central Powers to sign a treaty with the victorious Allies, surrendering much of its Middle Eastern empire to the British, French, Greeks, and Armenians. However in reality the Treaty was essentially worthless as it was the Nationalists, not the Ottomans, who now ruled Turkey.

Main Events

East Prussian plebiscite

Soviet Russia
recognizes Lithuanian

Treaty of Sèvres

The Treaty of Sèvres was signed between the Ottoman Empire and the United Kingdom, France, Italy, Japan, and a number of minor Allied Powers including Greece and Armenia in Sèvres, France. The Treaty ceded large parts of the Ottoman Empire to Britain, France, Greece, and Armenia, and established European spheres of influence in the remaining territory.

Battle of Warsaw

By June 1920, the Polish advance into Belarus and Ukraine was halted, and the Soviet Army began pushing back into what had been Polish territory before the outbreak of the war. British Foreign Secretary George Curzon petitioned the Soviets to ceasefire at what became known as the Curzon Line, but the Soviets refused and reached the Vistula by August. However, Polish forces intercepted and cut off the Soviets outside of the capital Warsaw, leading to massive Soviet casualties and a frantic, disorganized retreat.

About this map     Download map