Kosovo War

Post-Cold War Europe

Europe 1999.0612

Kosovo War

Europe after the Cold War (12 June 1999)

Historical Map of Europe & the Mediterranean

Serb attempts at "ethnic cleansing" in Bosnia led to NATO intervention and the UN occupation of Bosnia-Herzegovina. After this defeat, Serb nationalists turned inwards, against Kosovo Albanians in the Yugoslav republic of Serbia itself. Again NATO intervened, forcing the Serbs to accept the UN administration of Kosovo.

Main Events

Collective Security Treaty

On May 15, 1992, the former Soviet States of Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan signed the Confederation of Independent States Collective Security Treaty (which would become the Collective Security Treaty Organization in 2002). The military alliance went into effect on April 20, 1994, by which time Azerbaijan, Belarus, and Georgia had agreed to join. However, Azerbaijan, Georgia, and Uzbekistan would decline to renew their membership in 1999.

First Chechen War

Russia forced to accept Chechen de-facto independence

1995 enlargement of the European Union

Austria, Finland, and Sweden accede to the European Union. Norway and Switzerland had also applied for membership, but had withdrawn their requests after negative referendums at home.

Dayton Agreement over Bosnia

General Framework Agreement for Peace in Bosnia and Herzegovina, also known as the Dayton Agreement, formally signed in Paris

Euro launched

Official launch of the euro creates a monetary union among Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain

Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland join NATO

NATO intervenes in Kosovo War with air campaign against Yugoslavia

About this map