Division of Germany

World War II: Fall of the Third Reich

Europe 1945.0713

Division of Germany

World War II in Europe from Stalingrad to the fall of Berlin (13 July 1945)

Historical Map of Europe & the Mediterranean

With the Nazis defeated, the four Allied powers - Britain, France, the US, and the Soviet Union - divided Germany into four occupation zones, marking additional German territory in the east for later Polish and Soviet annexation. The German capital of Berlin was also divided into four zones, as was Austria and its capital, Vienna.

Main Events

Allied Control Commission assumes control throughout Germany, which is divided into four occupation zones

United Nations Charter signed in San Francisco

Three-power occupation of Berlin takes effect

Allies agree on their occupation zones in Austria

About this map     Download map