Great White Fleet

American Empire

North America 1907.1216

Great White Fleet

The Spanish-American War, the Banana Wars, the Mexican Revolution, World War I and the Great Depression (16 December 1907)

Historical Map of North America & the Caribbean

In 1902-03, Britain, Germany and Italy had blockaded Venezuela when it refused to repay its foreign debts. In response, US President Theodore Roosevelt announced that from now on the US would intervene in European disputes in the Americas, effectively acting as the region's policeman. To emphasize US ability to project its power, Roosevelt sent the 16 battleship 'Great White Fleet' around the globe in 1907.

Main Events

Dominion of Newfoundland

The British self-governing colony of Newfoundland was granted dominion status, becoming the Dominion of Newfoundland. This was in accordance with the decision of the 1907 Imperial Conference to confer dominion status on all self-governing colonies.

Central American Peace Conference

In response to the continued instability in Central America, the United States and Mexico proposed a peace conference between the five Central American nations (Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua). The Central American Peace Conference opened in Washington DC on 14 November 1907 and concluded with the establishment of a Central American Court of Justice to resolve future disputes and reject governments gained by revolutionary means. The court lasted until 1918 from its headquarters in Costa Rica, after which it dissolved following the departure of Nicaragua.

Oklahoma made US state

The Oklahoma and Indian Territories were combined to become the US state of Oklahoma. As a result of this, the indigenous lands that had composed the Indian Territory were dissolved until sovereignty was restored in 1998.

Great White Fleet

By the order of the United States President Theodore Roosevelt, the Great White Fleet left Hampton Roads, Virginia, on a journey to circumnavigate the world and demonstrate US naval power. The 16 battleship fleet traveled south to the British West Indies, rounding South America to reach San Francisco on 6 May 1908; then crossed the Pacific via Honolulu to visit New Zealand, Australia, the Philippines, and Japan before sailing back to Hampton Roads via Ceylon, the Suez Canal, Gibraltar, and the Atlantic. The voyage was completed without major incident and welcomed in the numerous ports it visited, greatly enhancing US prestige.

About this map