Treaty of Brest-Litovsk

The Great War and the Revolution

Russia 1918.0501

Treaty of Brest-Litovsk

World War I in eastern Europe and the Russian Revolution (1 May 1918)

Historical Map of Russia & the former Soviet Union

On December 15, 1917, Lenin, desperate for peace and stability, signed an armistice with the Central Powers. This led to the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk, ratified March 6, whereby Soviet Russia agreed to cede the Ukraine, Poland, the Baltic states, Finland, and Transcaucasia.

Main Events

Government of Yakutia declares independence

Renewed German offensive on Russian front

Treaty of Brest-Litovsk

Soviet Russia signs the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk with Germany, Austria-Hungary, Bulgaria, and the Ottoman Empire at Brest-Litovsk, Russia. The treaty ends Russia's participation in World War I and forces it to cede the Baltic States to Germany, to cede Kars to the Ottoman Empire, and to recognize the independence of Ukraine and Finland. Russia is also obliged to pay six billion German gold marks in reparations.

Moscow replaces Petrograd as capital of Russia

Germans take Helsingfors (Helsinki) from Red Finns

About this map