Berlin Blockade

Soviet Superpower

Russia 1948.0624

Berlin Blockade

The Cold War from the Soviet Union's view (24 June 1948)

Historical Map of Russia & the former Soviet Union

As a result of the War, Germany had been divided into Allied zones of occupation. The German capital, Berlin, was also divided, even though it was completely surrounded by Soviet-occupied Germany. In 1947, the Americans and British united their zones in Germany. The Soviets, who opposed any restoration of German power, responded by cutting off land and water access to Berlin from the west. However, the western allies were able to save Berlin from choosing between starvation and Soviet dominance by providing to all the city's needs through airlifts. Unwilling to start a war by shooting down the supply aircraft, the Soviets were forced to back down.

Main Events

Reoccupation of Iranian Azerbaijan

Following the Soviet withdrawal from northwest Iran, Iranian troops moved into Tabriz, capital of the Azerbaijan People's Government. The following day, Iran also occupied the Republic of Mahabad. Many of the Azerbaijani and Kurdish supporters of the two separatist republics fled to neighboring Soviet Azerbaijan.


In response to the growing economic isolation of the Soviet occupation zone– in violation of the Potsdam Agreements– the United States and United Kingdom agreed to merge their occupation zones and ensure the free movement of agricultural and industrial goods to rebuild the German economy.

Paris Peace Treaties

Under the Paris Peace Treaties, Finland ceded Petsamo to the Soviet Union, as had been agreed in the 1944 Moscow Armistice Agreement.

Paris Peace Treaties

Under the Paris Peace Treaties, Hungary's borders reverted to those which had existed before the 1938 Munich Agreement. So too did Czechoslovakia, except for Ruthenia, which was ceded to the Soviet Union. Romania agreed to return to its prewar boundaries, with the exceptions of southern Dobruja, which was ceded to Bulgaria, and Bessarabia and Bukovina, which were restored to the Soviet Union.

Partition of India

Under the direction of Lord Louis Mountbatten of Burma, the last Viceroy of the British Indian Empire, British India was partitioned into the sovereign states of the Dominion of Pakistan and the Union of India. As Pakistan was designated as a Muslim homeland, the religiously mixed provinces of Punjab and Bengal were also divided between the two new states. The princely states were advised to choose between Pakistan and India, rather than retain independence.

U.S. Congress passes Marshall Aid Act, contributing $5.3 billion for European recovery

Berlin Blockade

About this map     Download map