Political map of North America & the Caribbean on 01 Jul 1867 (Closing the Frontier: Canadian Confederation), showing the following events: Nebraska becomes US state; Alaska Purchase; Emperor Maximilian executed; Republicans capture Mexico City; Canadian Confederation.

Canadian Confederation

Closing the Frontier

North America 1867.0701

Canadian Confederation

The end of the French Intervention in Mexico, Reconstruction, the foundation of Canada, the Indian Wars and the westward expansion of the United States (1 July 1867)

Historical Map of North America & the Caribbean

US expansionism, its purchase of Alaska and its alleged support of Irish Republican Fenian raiders encouraged the British to listen to demands for self-government and unification from its remaining North American colonies. In 1867, they assented to the formation of the Dominion of Canada by uniting the British colonies of Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

Main Events

Nebraska becomes US state

Nebraska Territory admitted to US as state of Nebraska

Alaska Purchase

United States Secretary of State William H. Seward signed the Treaty concerning the Cession of the Russian Possessions in North America by his Majesty the Emperor of all the Russias to the United States of America (now commonly referred to as the 'Alaska Purchase'), agreeing to the US purchase of Russian America from the Russian government for $7.2 million, or about 2 cents per acre. The Senate ratified the treaty on 9 April 1867, with the House approving the appropriation of the money needed on 14 July 1868.

Emperor Maximilian executed

Republic of Mexico executes Emperor Maximilian I by firing squad

Republicans capture Mexico City

Imperial forces surrender Mexico City to the Republicans under Porfirio Diaz

Canadian Confederation

Under the terms of the British North America Act of 1867, the Dominion of Canada was formed by the unification of the United Province of Canada with the colonies of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. The act reestablished Ontario and Quebec as separate provinces, this time as part of the new dominion.

About this map