Political map of South & Southwest Asia 01 April 1937 (Government of India Act): The growth of the Indian Independence Movement in the 1930s pushed Britain to reform the way it governed India. In 1935 it passed the Government of India Act (Government of India Act 1935), which increased Indian rights, enabled provincial elections, and separated Aden and Burma from India. The act became fully active in April 1937, by which time the Indian National Congress had been voted into 8 of the 11 provinces (Indian provincial elections%2C 1937).