Political map of Europe & the Mediterranean 09 December 1991 (Croatian War of Independence): In July, Slovenia, Croatia, and Yugoslavia had signed the Brioni Agreement, in which Slovenia and Croatia agreed to delay independence for three months. This ended fighting in Slovenia (Ten Day War) but not Croatia, where the Serb-dominated Yugoslav government continued to back Serb Croat rebels (Republic of Serbian Krajina). In October, with the moratorium expired, Croatia confirmed its independence as the war with Yugoslavia intensified (Croatian War of Independence).