Political map of Australia, New Zealand & the Southwest Pacific 25 April 1950 (United States of Indonesia): Dutch efforts to reconquer Indonesia in 1947–49 (Politionele acties) brought condemnation by the United Nations. Backing down (Dutch-Indonesian Round Table Conference), the Netherlands accepted the independence of the United States of Indonesia (United States of Indonesia) - a federation which included both the nationalist Republic of Indonesia (Republic of Indonesia (1949-1950)) and 15 states established by the Dutch. However the Republic quickly began to assert control over the other states, provoking the south Maluku Islands to declare independence (Republic of South Maluku).