Political map of Australia, New Zealand & the Southwest Pacific 11 December 1931 (Statute of Westminster): Over the course of the 1920s, Britain moved to give all its Dominions (British Dominion) greater independence, culminating in 1931 when it passed the Statute of Westminster (Statute of Westminster 1931), turning the British Empire (British Empire) into the British Commonwealth (Commonwealth of Nations).