Political map of Australia, New Zealand & the Southwest Pacific 18 October 1928 (League of Nations Mandates): With the signing of Versailles (1919) (Treaty of Versailles), Australia and New Zealand became founding members of the League of Nations (League of Nations). The following year the League granted them mandates over the territories they had conquered from Germany (League of Nations mandate).