Political map of Australia, New Zealand & the Southwest Pacific 18 June 1829 (Swan River Colony): Initial British claims to Australia were limited to the eastern portion of the continent (Colony of New South Wales); the western part being deemed unsuitable for colonization and already subject to Dutch claims (New Holland (Australia)). In 1826, with any Dutch claims waived and concerned about French intentions on the west coast of Australia, the British Colony of New South Wales built an outpost at King George Sound. Two and a half years later the British consolidated their presence in the region by establishing a more substantial British settlement on the Swan River (Swan River Colony). This new settlement would formally become the Colony of Western Australia in 1832.