Political map of Sub-Saharan Africa 17 August 1960 (French Withdrawal from Equatorial Africa): August 1960 was the high point in the Year of Africa, with nine nations gaining independence from France between the 1st and 17th of that month. Most notable was the former French Equatorial Africa, where France withdrew from Chad (Independence of Chad), Central African Republic (Independence of Central African Republic), the Republic of Congo (Independence of the Republic of the Congo (Brazzaville)), and Gabon (Independence of Gabon) in the space of a week.