Political map of Sub-Saharan Africa 14 July 1960 (Congo Crisis): Belgium reluctantly granted its Congo colony (Belgian Congo) independence in June 1960 but delayed ceding control of the armed forces (Force Publique) to the new government (Republic of Congo (Leopoldville)). As a result, Congolese troops mutinied against their Belgian officers and the country broke down into disorder (Congo Crisis). In response, Belgium sent in paratroopers to protect white civilians and backed a secessionist movement in mineral-rich Katanga province (State of Katanga). Prime Minister Lumumba (Patrice Lumumba) of the Congo protested to the United Nations, which called on the Belgians to withdraw (United Nations Security Council Resolution 143).