Political map of South & Southwest Asia 4 January 1948 (Independence of Burma): The British departure from India in 1947 made their remaining colonies in South Asia redundant. Burma - which had been making  increasing demands for independence since their occupation by Japan in World War II - became an independent republic in early 1948 (Independence Day (Myanmar)), followed shortly by Ceylon.