Political map of South & Southwest Asia 15 July 1909 (Persian Constitutional Revolution): News of the Anglo-Russian agreement (Anglo-Russian Entente) provoked unrest in Persia, prompting its pro-Russian Shah (Mohammad Ali Shah Qajar) to roll back recent reforms (Persian Constitution of 1906) and arrest the Majlis (parliament). This only led to more instability, with Tabriz and numerous other cities revolting in 1908 (Persian Constitutional Revolution). Hoping to intimidate the revolutionaries but unwilling to become directly involved in the civil war, Russia sent in troops to protect European property. Undaunted by the Russians, the revolutionaries took Tehran on July 16, 1909, deposing the Shah the following day.