Political map of South American nations 05 November 1883 (End of the War of the Pacific): By 1883, Chile was the clear victor in the War of the Pacific, occupying all the important Peruvian and Bolivian ports and successfully invading the Peruvian Sierra. Peru accepted defeat in October, ceding Tarapacá to Chile (Treaty of Ancon); although the Chilean occupation of Tacna and Arica would remain a source of contention until 1929 (Treaty of Lima (1929)). Bolivia - which had lost its entire Pacific coastline - would only agree to a truce at first (Treaty of Valparaiso), refusing to sign a formal peace treaty until 1904 (Treaty of Peace and Friendship (1904)).