Political map of Australia, New Zealand & the Southwest Pacific 04 August 1914 (Outbreak of the Great War): Although Australia and New Zealand were self-governing democracies, they were still part of the British Empire (British Empire) and tied to Britain's foreign policy decisions. When Britain declared war on Germany in 1914 (First World War), the two dominions were automatically committed to the conflict.