Political map of Australia, New Zealand & the Southwest Pacific 18 February 1811 (Interregnum in the Dutch East Indies): France’s occupation of the Netherlands (Kingdom of Holland) during the French Revolutionary (French Revolutionary Wars) and Napoleonic Wars made the Dutch East Indies a proxy French colony. In 1810 the British invaded, seizing control of the Moluccas and many of the outlying islands (Governorate of Ambon). Despite French attempts to fortify and reorganize the colony (French and British interregnum in the Dutch East Indies), Java and the remaining islands would fall to the British in August–September 1811 (Invasion of Java (1811)).